Request an Appointment

Testimonials


August 31, 2012


Painless Bunion Surgery


Double Ankle Fractures


July 16, 2014

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
My foot is wonderful and my husband and I danced for 2 hours solid rock and roll at my 50th HS reunion this past Saturday night. No pain, no limping the next day!
We are in lovely and cooler Vermont and thinking of you and my now dancable foot.
My brother Gary says hi. He also knows about foot pain and the joy of being fixed by your skilled hands.
See you at my next appointment.

Elaine
Sarasota


April 08, 2014

Dear Dr Lam,
I appreciate all the care you have done for me for so many years and I’m so glad that you have taken care of my mom as well. May your business increase and may good things come your way, as you are a gift to all your patients who really need you.
Thanks!
You’re the Best,

Sincerely,
Sharon S., Naples


April 08, 2014

Dr. Lam performed major correction of a congenital condition of both forefeet. In time, I would have been greatly reduced mobility-wise and comfort-wise…..a nearly crippling condition. I researched a second opinion through a major practice at a major Chicago hospital group just to understand my options given the seriousness of my prognosis. The left surgery reconstructed 75% of my foot, the right done in late 2013 a year after the first, is major but far less severe. This is major work, and I wouldn’t want anyone else but Kevin Lam to do the work. If one takes the time to learn Dr. Lam’s history and has reason to work with the physical therapy staff, their excellence is easy to discern for yourself. My wife had a noninvasive regenerative procedure for a torn tendon two years ago. This is how I met Dr. Lam and gained the fullest confidence in him. Said a different way, Dr. Lam and his practice are leaders in their field and truly care about patient outcomes. Their control over difficult processes and ensuring and explaining cautious recovery in a business-like way is there for the patient. Pain and wound management are incredible because they care and because they have the skills. They have great pride in their work, which deserves patient recognition. Pride and concern are too frequently lacking in our society. Not at the Family Foot and Leg Center.

Via Facebook post.
E. Sachs.


Mar 19, 2014

Dear Dr. Timm,

Thank you for your E-mail regarding the progress of my recent problems. First the ruptured tendon in my right ankle has improved dramatically. I’m finally pain free/ I’m walking without using the boot. It was a very effective support when the foot was recovering. I wore it for almost two weeks Now about the hammer little toe on the left foot. I’ve been wearing the toe separator you recommended and as of this writing it seems to be working. Of course, as you pointed out, it will take some time before we will know whether the condition will improve in the long range. I will be sure to contact you if I begin to suffer the kind of pain I had before seeing you last time.

Respectfully,
D. Mills
Naples, FL


Feb 26, 2014

Both R. (m.Frank) and I were extremely pleased with the professional care we PROMPTLY received at your practice. She was especially impressed by the care with which you cut and trimmed her very sensitive nails. The shot you gave me for inflammation has worked and I was back playing tennis pain free in two days. I do wear the extra padding you had me purchase from you when I play tennis or golf or take long walks. It helps.

Warmly,
Dr. A. Frank


Aug 23, 2013

I’m back from my most amazing hiking/camping trip on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington (Go there).

Just wanted to give you BIG BIG Kudos. I hiked 34 miles in 3 days- up and down 6 and 7,000’ mountains and my foot did AMAZING. No issues at all. No one can believe I was able to do that. Says so much about you and your work. Thank you thank you thank you.

Will definitely be passing on the good work about you and your staff.

All the best,
Thea M.

D.C. Naples.


Aug 23, 2013

Greetings, I was very happy with the Dr. at your office he was able to do in two visits what I couldn’t do in 6 months, my issue is a chronic one and I always try and keep up with it my self it’s doing good now but when it flares up and it will , always does I plan on making an appointment . promise,. I am able to care for it now so I am, nothing personal it’s more financial as I am on disability and money is short . thanks again for all your help I’m sure you will see me again.

D.C. Naples.


May 14, 2013

The RF Ablation has really work well I have no pain in my foot. You have been very helpful while working through the process of getting rid of my neuroma without surgery. My foot feels so much better. Thank you so much for your support!

TT, Fort Myers, FL


May 1, 2013

Dr. Lam,

Many thanks for your excellent care, professionalism and the smile from the staff at the FAMILY FOOT & LEG CENTER.

Dr. Pierini, M.D.


November 2, 2012

Prior to moving to Naples Florida I was living in New Mexico where I had sustained what doctors call a spiral fracture to my right tibia which completely shattered the base of the tibia which connected to my ankle. The surgeon in New Mexico reconnected my tibia to my ankle by installing a metal plate and five screws between the ankle the remainder of my tibia. I moved to Naples shortly after being medically discharged by my doctor in New Mexico. Within two months of moving to Naples the plate and screws came apart. I turned to a long time family friend who happens to be on the board of directors of Naples Community Hospital to recommend a foot and ankle doctor to me. Without hesitation our friend recommended Dr Kevin Lam to me. Dr Lam repaired the damage caused by my fracture and my ankle is stronger than ever. Other people and medical professionals I have met all have high praise and respect for Dr Lam. I consider myself fortunate to have Dr Lam as my physician and surgeon.


October 18, 2012

Dr. Lam,

Thank you for the excellent care that I have received over the years.

Your physical therapy team is the best in Naples! They work together so well giving the patient the best care possible. Thank you again.

M. Tayleiv


October 22, 2012

I am very pleased and impressed so far with the lessening of my pain in my plantar fascia and Achilles area from the shock wave therapy. A much deeper relief than all the cortisone injections that I have received in the past. I just read yesterday, on a web site, that I should not be taking anti inflammatory medication in order to facilitate the best outcome. I discontinued the ibuprofen that I take, for my degenerative disk disease, and will substitute Tylenol, for now. My nerve pain in the left foot, from the anesthesia, is also slowly improving. I cut the toe out of a pair of wool socks, triple rolled them and use them at night, over my heels and ankles. This has protected the nerve from bumps and keeps the area warmer, feels great and seems to facilitating over all recovery. Backed off the B vitamins, as the niacin was burning me up. The custom orthotics with my new roll bar New Balance shoes are outstanding, I cannot say enough. As a Fire Fighter my plantar faciitis and Achilles tendinitis was so debilitating that I was afraid that I may not make it to retirement, but that has all changed.

Thanks Dr Kevin Lam, see you on the 24th for my follow up.

Daniel Eidem


August 31, 2012

Dear Dr. Lam and Staff,

Thank you for your medical care and recommendations. Your treatment and physical therapy have made a tremendous difference in my feet and legs. The pain has diminished significantly and I feel better than I have in years.

Sincerely,

Lynn Murphy, Naples, FL


August 22, 2012

Dear Benni, Kim, Gina, Marlene & Cheryl (Physical Therapy),

Thank you so much for healing me!! Your coordinated efforts along with Dr. Lam have taken away years of pain. I hope you realize your efforts are appreciated and you do a tremendous service. Making folks feel better; what a great service to provide!!

Sincerely,

Lynn Murphy, Naples, FL


February 11, 2012

Just a line to offer this recommendation and to thank you for the quick and efficient treatment of my ingrown toenail. I had suffered for months with this and whilst on holiday in the area I had a really rapid appointment, super quick treatment and I was back on the golf course the next day. Amazed to feel absolutely no pain at all. I would return to see him if I had any foot problem, even though I live abroad. I would highly recommend Dr. Lam’s services to any one visiting the this area of Florida. Great service and extremely fast.

Thank you.

Pamela Grant, Switzerland


June 3, 2011

Dear Dr. Lam,

I am writing to thank you for the attention and excellent care that I have received at your facility. I appreciate the time that you initially spent with me and the regimen that you prescribed for me in the out-patient treatment center. My time there was not only very helpful, but also very enjoyable. My thanks to Cheryl for the time that she spent with me, the treatment that she gave in a firm, yet gentle way and her excellent direction of her area. I also extend my appreciation to Kim and Gina. Their care, attention, and on-going conversation help to. make the treatment sessions effective, enjoyable and never dull. I will miss them all.

My feet are definitely improved and I hope that with continuing home therapy and periodic follow-up at your office, the improvement will continue.

Yours truly,

Nancy R.


February 23, 2011


January 4, 2011

When 75 year old Martha Nelson tripped and fell down the stairs she could barely move her limbs any more. Her ankle was badly hurt and the pain seemed to numb all her senses. After consulting a local orthopedic surgeon, Mrs. Nelson didn’t feel her ankle getting any better. It was then that a neighbor suggested that she’d consult Dr. Kevin Lam.

Dr. Lam is a specialist in foot surgery and Reconstructive Rearfoot and Ankle Surgery. When Mrs. Nelson approached Dr. Lam, she was suffering from immense pain in the ankle of her left feet. Dr. Lam thoroughly checked the condition of her ankle. There was a swelling on the outside of the ankle. However, Dr. Lam suggested Mrs. Nelson undergo an X-ray so that the diagnosis of the cause of the problem can be detected. He just wanted to be sure about the condition of the ankle since Mrs. Nelson was quite old and he feared that things may be complicated because of the age.

He then conducted an MRI examination and discovered that she was suffering from Peroneal Tendon Dysfunction, an acute disorder that occurs mainly when a group of two tendons get injured due to an accidental dislocation. The problem is quite uncommon and majorly affects the muscles in the ankle area.

He informed that there were certain treatments that will help reduce the pain and cure the injury permanently. Dr. Lam indulged Mrs. Nelson’s ankle for an initial treatment of a splint wrap to reduce the swelling. Once the swelling subsided he revealed that Mrs. Nelson had experienced a rather terrible tendon injury due to which she may not be able to walk properly for quite some time. He however suggested that she’d undergo the treatments to reduce the effect of the injury to a great extend on her ankles. Mrs. Nelson agreed, much to the delight of Dr. Lam who was sure that he would be able to cure the problem.

For almost the next six weeks Mrs. Nelson, underwent the therapeutic treatments for the injury. He was extremely careful to let the first phase of the treatment process to take place. Gradually the intense pain started to subside. But Dr. Lam wanted to ensure that he’d take proper care of his patient since Mrs. Nelson was an extremely courageous lady. She patiently cooperated with Dr. Lam and seemed quite satisfied with the progress. Thereafter, he informed her that there was a requirement of the ankle to undergo a surgery. She became apprehensive and for the first time did Dr. Lam noticed her fear. He calmed her down and insisted that she’d go for the surgery which would cure her ailment completely.

The surgery took place sometime later. At first, he tightened the torn tendons. These places were then stitched and allowed to stay till the ankle healed. Slowly Mrs. Nelson started to recover under the supervision of Dr. Lam. He assisted her for about 4-6 weeks on splint processes, followed by 2-4 weeks of treatment comprising of weight bearing procedures. Mrs. Nelson remarkably regained strength in her ankle in a very short time. Now she can walk and does not have any complications with her ankle. She thanked Dr. Lam for his unconditional assistance and immense care.

Last week, Mrs. Nelson went for a vacation and tried her hands at skiing. Well, it’s surprising but the truth is that she did a fabulous job and was cheered by the audience at the location. She then narrated her story of the terrible ankle injury that she had experienced some time back. They could not believe her nor could the others who had seen her suffering from the pain.

There are many cases of leg and ankle injuries throughout the world in the past few years. Some could be operated successfully while others didn’t ever receive the proper treatment. As for Mrs. Nelson, she considers Dr. Lam her savior and still keeps narrating her tale of success with her ankle injury to whoever she meets.

Read story on NaplesNews.com


December, 11, 2010

Testimonial in regards to Pediatric Flat Foot Surgery

My daughter Kyra was referred to Doc. Weaver about 2 years ago. She always had problems with her feet, for years she complained about terrible leg pain. She was also seeing Dr. Barbaro for chiropractic care as well ( also in your building). In 6th grade she was in Cross country where she had tripped and made her feet worse. After almost 1 1/2 year with conservative treatment we agreed to surgery. That’s when we were introduced to Dr. Lam Our Hero!!

At the time before surgery Kyra was in constant pain, daily activities even walking was painful. She did pursue gym activities but suffered in pain. She had to give up all sports.

We were thrilled with Dr. Lam!! He explained everything to us and helped Kyra’s (both) dads agree to even undergo the surgery. On the day of the actual surgery he was amazing! Over 5 hours in surgery with several procedures he gave us the most amazing news….All went Great!! He even was available for my frantic mommy hours after we got home.

Kyra did Great! The first day was really bad, however we followed Dr. Lam’s advice and gave her the Codeine and Tylenol and we got through it the next day and every day after she just felt better and better. her recovery was fast and furious! Eight weeks to the day after, she was given the GO for it by Dr. Lam, and she did! Watching her learning to walk again was quite funny! We did not yet attempt any running activities. But the most important thing is NO COMPLAINT OF PAIN!!!

THANK YOU DR. LAM!!

We have and will continue to recommend Dr. Lam, Dr Weaver and their excellent staff to anyone who needs their help.


November, 11, 2010

To Dr. Lam and Staff,

1. We both found him to be clear, encouraging, and forthright in his explanations and descriptions of the anticipated treatment. He gave the final decisions with all of the necessary information to make and informed decision at our disposal. He and his entire staff made us feel as though we were his only concern at the moment. He specializes in the ankle and foot but attends to the patient body mind and spirit. He is a specialist with a holistic approach to medicine; refreshing in this day of medicine.

2. The medical issue at hand was charcot, caused by neuropathy, broken collapsed bones, lost strength in archives tendon. The procedure was a triple arthrodesis, and repaired Achilles tendon.

3. I was not able to walk very far, or fast. I had difficulty driving because the right foot was affected, and I would lose pressure on the accelerator and the car would slow down to a dangerous speed. I could not brake effectively; consequently I had to all but give up driving. I could no longer golf or ride a bike safely.

4. The office staff and Dr. Lam work together as a team. Under pressure they support one another when there is a rush, and at the height of the winter season. They keep their schedule as well as they can, but they give everyone the time that they need. We are treated very professionally and yet we feel like family. Because we are persons who welcome hugs, they are freely given. There is a gentle yet professional touch of the shoulder, and a smile as difficult information is given or encouragement is needed. We know enough about each member personally, that we can relate to them and encourage them in return, without losing the necessary professionalism.

5. The surgery went well. Last minute adjustments had to be made in the surgery due to restraints made by the hospital on the way the procedure needed to be done, but late at night from home, DR Lam was able to adjust the entire procedure for the early am surgery, around the perimeters that would be allowed without any jeopardy to a successful outcome. He is a cutting edge, state of the art, creative surgeon who can think on his feet in an emergency. We trust his judgment completely!

6. There was never any pain. Though pain pills were supplied, after the first night, there was no need for them. The aftercare was superb. He assisted us in every way to have what we needed in our home care, and there was no need for physical therapy after. There was a p.t. person supplied at home. When he went to the office the last time, still in a wheel chair, Dr. Lam said “Let’s go for a walk” he walked George down the hall. We left to go back up north two days later. By the time we were in Wheeling W. Va. He drove the car, and he drove the rest of the way to New York.

7. George drives, plays golf, and this is done with special orthopedic shoes that we are able to get through Medicare. This October we went to Oahu, HI to celebrate our 50th Wedding anniversary, We climbed Diamond Head! A rocky steep climb, there are 275 steps, and a small hole to climb through, a dark rough tunnel to walk through. We felt so blessed to be able to do this. George maintains the property on our 15 acre farm in the Catskills, runs the tractor and chops wood for our wood burning stove. We celebrate every day the gift that Dr. Lam’s studies and great mind have brought to our lives.

8. We not only recommend Dr. Kevin Lam, but as a testimony to our faith and trust in his skill and care, George will place himself in Dr. Lam’s care again this January for a similar surgery, that is actually a bit more complicated, this January 2011. I think that says it all!

Kudos to a family man who has dedicated his life to helping folks get on with their lives, and live a quality of life that allows us to continue to exercise and be well.

I too, Gretchen was helped with my plantar faciitis, by the dr. and am grateful in every way for the care and attention to comparatively small health matters but yet painful and limiting for me. He was just as focused on me as the support person who needed full steam during the care of my husband during his surgery and recovery. I am now completely healed.

Thank you for giving us this opportunity for us to praise this fine man and surgeon. I am the scribe, but George voiced his thoughts through my fingers.

From George and Gretchen


May 11, 2010

To Dr. Lam and Staff,

You have all made an enormous difference in my life and it is difficult to express how much you all mean to me.

Your kindness, patience, compassion, and dedication to healing all your patients is evident. Your professionalism is beyond compare and your office is the only doctor’s office I look forward to going to.

Please take care of each other with as much devotion as you showed me.

A happy, healthy new year to you. All my love,

Joyce S.


May 1, 2010

Dear Dr. Lam,

I am writing you today to express my sincere appreciation to you and your staff for all you did to insure my successful and complete recovery.

After struggling with an open wound on my foot for nearly 18 months, during which time I was seen by three other physicians, never diagnosed correctly, therefore, not property treated, I was fortunate enough to be referred to you. Immediately I had both X-rays and an M.R.I. on my foot which showed I had ostemylelitis, which if it had continued to not be treated properly could have led to my losing part or even all of my foot.

During my consultation with you, both you and your staff answered every question and concern I had, which were certainly many. Within about a week’s time I was booked for surgery and on my way to a complete recovery.

The surgery and all follow-up visits were always handled very professionally, cordially and done with my recovery in mind.

Should any future patient of yours request a referral from a former patient, please feel free to have them contact me. Thank you. for everything.

Respectfully,

Jay D


April 29, 2010

TESTIMONIAL FOR ARTHROSURFACE IMPLANT SURGERY

Dear Dr. Lam,

It has been over a year since the operation to replace the joint on my right large toe. I thought it would be of interest for you and any perspective patients to know the results of the arthrosurface implant procedure.

I had arthritis in the first joint of both of my large toes. The right toe was at stage 2. There was considerable calcium build up in the joint making the toe lack flexibility and tender to touch.

I was an active 69 year old at the time. My activities include working out three days a week (running a mile to the Fitness center), golfing 3 to 4 times a week, Bocce Ball, etc. The pain in the right toe was causing me to favor the left foot causing me to slightly limp or walk off balance thus affecting my hip and back.

The research I conducted, talking to friends who had foot surgery, the internet and references from other doctors led me to Dr. Lam.

On my first visit I was convinced that Dr. Lam was the man for the job. Dr. Lams open and warm personality, his explanation of the problem, his proposed solution and his reputation as a surgeon was very reassuring. It was determined that the right toe was a perfect candidate for this break through joint replacement procedure. The left toe at stage 1 is not quite ready. Dr. Lam explained how he would remove the calcium buildup from the medial (foot) part of the joint and replace the joint in the toe with the implant.

The surgery was performed as an outpatient. I went in around 8:00 AM and WALKED out of the hospital around 11:30. I used a cane for two days as the toe was tender. I must emphasize that the toe was tender but not painful. There was no need for pain pills. By the third day I walked the mile to the Fitness Center and worked out on upper body machines.

In 6 weeks I was back to all normal activities. The foot was tender for a while but never to any great degree. I would strongly suggest that anyone interested look at the before and after x-rays to see how clear the new joint is.

When my left foot is ready I will not hesitate to have the same surgery performed by Dr. Lam.

If anyone is contemplating this surgery I would be pleased to share my experience with them and answer any layman’s questions. Just contact Dr. Lam and he would set up the communication.

Regards,

Alan


October 10, 2009

My name is Werner. To make it short; I was seriously injured in an auto-accident in 1991. My left foot was severely fractured and left me with permanent nerve damage to the ischiatic and peroneal nerve. A severe drop foot at the age of 19 years was the outcome.

Despite the severity and the pain, I feel blessed to be alive. I had skull fractures and multiple fractures on my left arm. For some reason I believe to be pretty lucky not to be turned into a complete idiot according to the head injuries. Two years later after ongoing rehabilitation, I underwent surgery to have my tendons aligned to help to keep my foot in proper position.

That was the first of my hope. I managed to maneuver pretty good for a while. Unfortunately the cold weather in Austria wasn’t adding much comfort to my circulation and made my foot feel like a chunk of ice. In 1995 I moved to Florida to enjoy the benefits (or not) of everlasting sunshine. In the year 2000 I started working in the air-conditioning field, which took a big toll physically on top of my existing conditions. It wasn’t enough to get pain relief just by moving to Florida. Many hot attics, ladder climbing, tight spaces, dirty and dangerous work conditions and didn’t make my life easier.

I always tell myself: “I already survived an almost fatal car accident” and no matter how hard it gets I will survive future events somehow. After many years of agony and, yes, I would say depression; I finally would see a light at the end of the tunnel of suffering, thanks to Dr. Lam’s expertise in foot surgery. Dr. Lam and his friendly staff helped me to get me back on my feet. I underwent surgery in July 2009. Dr Lam’s procedure relieved me from many more years of suffering. Finally, Dr. Lam gave me a chance to not have to deal with excruciating pain on daily basis and ended a cursed pain cycle.

Dr. Lam in my opinion is the most competent, most outgoing person in his category.

The patient is treated with the utmost respect. Dr. Lam and team are determined to make any kind of foot correction a pleasant experience. Thank you!


April 19, 2009

Hello Dr. Lam and Staff,

It has been a couple years since you repaired a tendon in my ankle, and I thought I would give you a progress report. The tendon was frayed and I ended up needed a graft. Everything went great from pre-op to post-op.

To celebrate turning 50, I took a water ski class as you can see. This would have been out of the question with out your knowledgeable planning and expertise. I cannot imagine
a better outcome than the experience I had.

Thank you always for making it possible for me to choose what I want to do, without limitations. Wishing you a well-deserved prosperous practice.

Grateful I found you @


Dr. Kevin Lam

Re: Neil G.

I want to thank you again for your care of Neil G. I got a call from his wife on Tuesday morning, the 14th at 8am that he had a severe injury and the ER had sent him home. They were frantic as she couldn’t connect to be seen by the orthopedic surgeon referral from the ER. I had called to get the results of the x-ray which was a severe pilon fracture and several orthopedic surgeon’s names. I had her call several surgeons who were either not doing this fractures or not doing workmans comp. I then had her read me the list of surgeons available on her plan and I recognized your name from Jackson Memorial Hospital and told her to call you that morning.

You saw the patient the same day, got him admitted and CT performed and operated the next day. I did see the difficult repair, and I have shown the successful results to your former professors.

Your personal attention to the patient was very helpful and important. This is a highly motivated police officer who was injured. Often times, these workmen’s compensation cases are not treated as nicely and I assure you that both the patient and I appreciate your care.

It is good to know that you are available since there is only one other surgeon who does the same kind of work in your area, otherwise the patient would have to be shipped to Tampa or Gainesville or Miami.

Sincerely,

N. Henry Pevsner, M.D.

Diplomate American Boards of Radiology and Nuclear Medicine

Clinical Assoc. Prof. Of Radiology, Univ. Of Miami Jackson Memorial Hospital

Society of Interventional Radiology


Charcot Ankle Reconstruction

From a Patient’s Daughter Addressed to Naples Community Hospital

Hi, my name is C.G. my mother J.P. is currently in your hospital. I’d like to share my story with you. My mother is a diabetic. She broke her foot about a year and a half ago. She walked on that same broken foot for a year. Being a diabetic she doesn’t feel pain, that much. One day she noticed a small cut on her ankle. Which turned into an enormous sore. She decided to go to a physician named Dr. … There she found out that her foot was broken (really bad). He started treating the sore by giving her a cream to put on week after week after week. The sore never healed. The doctor told my mother that she would need to get the foot amputated, before poisons spread through the body. We were not happy with this so we decided to get a second opinion. This time we went to a Dr. —–. He also told her that amputation would be the best thing. My mom is in your hospital at least twice this year. Well, about six – seven months ago. She ended up in your hospital again. Because of high blood pressure etc. She asked the doctors to look at her foot. They sent in a Podiatrist named Dr. Petrocelli He looked at her grotesque foot, and told her that he could help her. From that point on he started treating her. He mentioned to her that himself, along with Dr. Lam would be able to do a reconstructive surgery on her foot. Well this was the best news ever. They told her she would have a 50/50 chance (but what did she have to lose).

She recently got sick again Trouble Breathing, etc…. When the nurses saw her foot you could see the look on their faces, they looked scared or even grossed out. That’s how bad my mother’s foot was. I’m writing to tell you that, while in your hospital Dr. Petrocelli and Dr. Lam did that Reconstructive Surgery. It is a miracle what they do for my mom’s foot. She now has a nice straight foot. The she can now walk on. They had her walking on that foot 24 hours after the surgery (amazing isn’t it?) It was unbelievable what these two gentlemen did for my mom. I write to you as president of the hospital, to please not let work like this go unnoticed. These two professionals took the time to care and really look into my mom’s case, and did a miraculous surgery. Thanks to Dr. Lam and Dr. Petrocelli.

From Dr. Lam:

Picking a physician for Foot and Ankle reconstructive surgery is a big decision. You depend on your legs to go about your daily activities. The above patient had Charcot Foot and Ankle Disease, a neurological disease that is clinically manifested with a collapsed / distorted foot and ankle due to the lack of sensation in the lower extremity. Seeing a podiatric surgeon early for this deformity, may help to avoid major reconstruction or limb loss in the near future. Braces, casts, special boots are used as conservative therapy with good outcomes. Before you have any foot and ankle surgery, always check the physician’s references with past patients as well as other health professionals. Physical therapists and nurses will have unbiased opinions about surgeons due their exposure.


Bunionectomy

In late October I had a phone call from my daughter, who is a nurse in Naples, telling me that she had discovered a new Doctor in town, a foot surgeon whose work she greatly admired. She thought it was time for me to have my feet taken care of. For about 40 years I’ve been developing a dorsal bunion on my right foot, and similar problem on left foot but not as progressed. She said I should talk it over with Dad and decide. We did talk and I decided it was time to have it at least looked at, and meet this new doctor. We met, both Frank and I liked and trusted him, and I was scheduled for surgery on November 16th. This was a BIG decision for me as I had been procrastinating for all those years, did have legitimate excuses (a job and 4 kids to rise), but still an excuse I guess.

I was fearful and apprehensive on the day of surgery, I told Dr. Lam I didn’t want to hear saws or drills, but all went well (at least on my side), I’m told the surgery was more extensive than originally thought, but I was out of surgery and on my new walker all within 3 hours. The pain, which was my big fear, wasn’t nearly as bad as I had thought. Pain pills these days are wonderful! I had a good caregiver, my husband who did it all, drove me places as needed, cooked, cleaned, did laundry, and even helped me shower for the first two weeks (I needed to cover the foot with a bag so I didn’t get it wet). I spend the first two weeks on my fanny, with my feet elevated, taking pain pills as needed, watching TV and reading. After two weeks things improved (and I began to like Dr. Lam again!!!). Once the pins were removed from my foot I was able to be up and moving a bit more, and day by day I could see the foot improving and healing, with special care given by my husband, and also I had a therapist. Due to bone grafts that were necessary, I had a fixator attached to my foot, which took some mental and physical adjustment, it’s not painful, but just “there” all the time and you have to watch your sheets and blankets so they don’t get torn, and of course you couldn’t get any kind of slipper for shoe on your foot. I was also to walk around the house without my walker, although I did take it with me if I went out in public, but it was more to protect my foot from someone stepping on it, something I DID not want to happen.

For me the hardest part of this was the fact that it is so limiting for the first 3 weeks, your social life becomes non-existent, and you get bored. BUT finally somewhere around 4-5 weeks I found myself walking normally, able to get out and about more, and I decided that to live the rest of my life without that horrible bump on my foot is a blessing and one worth going for. I’ll finally be able to buy shoes I like rather than shoes that fit around my bunion.

I recommend this surgery, although it’s not always a pleasant experience, it is well worth it in the final analysis. I also highly recommend Dr. Kevin Lam, a great surgeon, and a kind and patient man.

I would also like to mention as an afterthought, that the therapist I had each time he looked at my foot said �what a great surgeon I had, he’d not seen as good a surgery� which reinforced my decision to go with Dr. Lam. When I look at my foot today I see a normal foot, I’m thrilled, and can’t wait to hit the shoe store!!!

From Dr. Lam:

The greatest compliment for me, is a fellow health care provider recommending me not only to her patients but her parents for lower extremity care. Despite horror stories of a painful experience with bunionectomies, new pain medications and delicate surgical techniques allows for a more tolerable experience. Advances in fixation methods has allowed progressive surgeon to provide early weight bearing during recovery for most bunionectomies. Remember to check references of your surgeon.


latest-testimonial-lam


Adult Clubfoot Correction Case